Karcher Ricotta Pancakes

   Whoa…I logged in today and saw my last post received 5,000 views. I’m flattered that anyone would want to read my little site, let alone people from Bahrain, Portugal, Chile, and other random countries that show up in my viewer stats.
      I realized I need to mix it up with recipes as not everyone likes to cook or bake with protein powder and stevia. This pancake recipe has neither, but is still low sugar and packed with protein . My mom sent me this recipe, which has been in my family for at least four generations on the Karcher side.
ingredients
It wasn’t an unhealthy recipe to begin with and doesn’t need the substitutes I used, I just wanted to see if it would taste just as great with a few changes. The only ingredients I modified were changing the cow’s milk to almond milk and flour to spelt flour, which I’ve been loving lately. Spelt flour tastes great, seems to work better in recipes than oat flour, and is higher in protein than white & wheat flour. It’s also more water soluble, which is why you should use a little less than called for when substituting it in a recipe, hence why you’ll see a scant 1/2 cup. If you go with regular flour, use a whole 1/2 cup.
ricotta
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 8 oz. low fat Ricotta Cheese
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk (or skim)
  • Scant 1/2 cup Spelt Flour (or 1/2 cup regular flour..oat flour would probably work too)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
Separate eggs and beat whites until stiff. Set aside. Mix yolks, milk and Ricotta together. Add flour and baking powder, then vanilla. Fold in stiff whites. Batter will be super fluffy. Cook on a pan sprayed with cooking spray. These pancakes aren’t very sweet since they have zero sugar/sweetener in them so definitely go crazy with toppings like fruit. I’ve tried mine with homemade blueberry compote and peanut butter. Serves 4.
Nutritional Stats (1 serving is 2 pancakes)
Cals: 172
Protein: 13 grams
Carbs: 10 grams
Fat: 6 grams
Sugar: 5 grams
One thought on “Karcher Ricotta Pancakes

  1. Glad you liked them! They always remind me of the summer i spent with grandpa and grandma karcher at the umpqua ranch. Pancakes were diabetic friendly for grandpa.

Leave a Reply

