Baked Berry Oatmeal

I’ve been on the road quite a bit for work lately and leave tomorrow for a few days in Eastern Oregon. I try to prep a little food to bring because I tend to make better food choices when I’ve got options other than staring at the aisle of Cheetos and Little Debbie Snacks in a gas station mini mart. I’ve got this packed along with some apple slices, peanut butter, Quest Bars, baby carrots, and snap peas. I figure this way I can afford to indulge a little at a fancy dinner tomorrow.

bakedoatmeal

I add protein powder to this so I don’t have to worry about packing hard boiled eggs, protein bars, or stuff to make a shake for a protein source. Also, I’ve been sick of eggs lately and its nice to just grab a slice of this and not have to heat up the stove. It taste great cold but you can also pour a little extra milk on top and reheat in the microwave. If you don’t want to add in protein powder, you can leave it out but keep the milk to 1 cup.

breakfast

  • 2 cups Old fashioned oats
  • 2 scoops Vanilla protein powder
  • 3 Egg whites
  • 2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 cups Milk (I used almond but you can use cow’s milk to bump up the protein)
  • 1/2 cup Applesauce (no sugar added)
  • 1/2 cup Sweetener (optional)
  • 2/3 cup Fresh or frozen Berries (you could also add sliced banana)
  • Optional: Nuts (I use 3 tbs sliced almonds) or Coconut Flakes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix all ingredients except for berries. Pour into an 8×8 pan (or round) with non-stick spray and top with berries (and nuts if you’re into that). Bake for 35-40 minutes until golden brown and set in the middle. Store any leftovers in the fridge. Serves 4.

Nutrition Stats: (for 1 serving with nuts)

Cals: 300

Protein: 23 grams

Carbs: 36 grams

Fat: 7 grams

Sugar: 6 grams

 

3 thoughts on “Baked Berry Oatmeal

  1. Thank you for this recipe! It’s delicious and the perfect breakfast for me. I make it without nuts on top, but I add a few dark choclate chips before I heat it up.

Leave a Reply

